The Great Southeastern Librarian?

No, doesn’t quite have the same ring to it, does it?

Logging into my blog for the first time in over a month, I noticed that there is a very distinct pattern to my posts from the past year. I have updated my blog when I have undergone a career/life change, but I have not been writing on a regular basis. I’ve also realized just how many changes I have gone through over the past year or two.

When I last posted, I had just been offered a job in Perthshire, Scotland. Unfortunately, I was unable to take up the position due to work permit complications. Despite offers from friends to return to the Middle East, I decided not to go down that road again and instead returned to the United States. Fortunately, I was offered a job as a librarian in a culinary institute within weeks of my return. I have been in post for just under two months now, and I am really enjoying it. I think I have worked in every type of library imaginable now!

Now that I am settled again, I am looking forward to getting back into blogging. It’s been interesting to reacquaint myself with the US library field again, and I plan on re-examining the differences in the UK and US library profession from this side of the pond.

About thegreatnorthernlibrarian

I am a newly qualified librarian and law student currently living in Scotland. The name of this blog was inspired by my extreme northern location at the time of the blog's creation. Savvy readers will recognise that it is also a Twin Peaks reference. I do not necessarily categorise myself as "great."
This entry was posted in Librarianship, Professional Development, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

